Inspired Writing Is in Everything

: qAfter you’ve been a writer for decades, you find that there is inspiration in practically everything. You notice everything. A friend once said to me, “Can’t you do anything without writing about it?”

I guess I can’t. Everything is grist for the mill. And, October is usually a good month for writers, as many awards are given out by various organizations. I received awards from three organizations. I won First Place in the Illinois State Poetry Society competition in the Haiku Category. ( I will probably get around to running my winning entry in The Daily Haiku at some point.)

I also received two awards, one from The Rockford (IL) Writers Guild, and another from Poets & Patrons in Chicago. They are below:

Just Me and the Sun

A pelican burrows in deepening blue,

I nest in sand beside a rock

in a cove of swollen sun.

 

Bronzing to my core,

I ripen in salty sunglow.

Steaming heat reddens my hair,

 

soothes my eyelids,

and penetrates my cells.

My mind surfs pipe dreams

 

of riding wayward waves

in a funnel of rays,

discovering gold coins

 

in a bottle swept ashore,

and sailing far-flung oceans

in hot winds

 

with thoughts of my thoughts

drifting to sky’s end.

 

What’s All the Roar?

Two museum guards, eight feet tall,

boast fangs and jowls,

capable of savaging

in one breath, one swallow.

 

Flanking the doors,

the bronze sculptures,

lionized as landmarks,

take us back to the battle

with unicorns for crowns.

 

In the urban wild, we pose for pictures

riding the jungle kings, at times

decorated with holiday wreaths

or helmets honoring sports teams.

 

A feline fanatic amid Chicago’s roar,

I dream of creating art revered

as the beastly guards,

ferociously-treasured as

 

Stati’s Samson and the Lion

and Delacroix’s Lion Hunt.

I ride high, if only

for a few moments,

before touching ground.

 

* At The Art Institute of Chicago’s entrance, stand the lion sculptures by Edward Kemeys that “guard” the museum’s pieces.

 

I don’t usually take part in poetry prompts, but if I see a contest requiring that a certain theme be written about, I often enter. I seem to do well when I have structure in my life (and in my writing life), and being given a theme often gets me thinking creatively.

I know great poets that never enter contests. They feel their chances of winning are not good. I, on the other hand, think the opposite. Because a lot of people don’t bother to enter, thinking there is too much competition, I think the odds are good of winning! Consider this, and don’t sell yourself short.

 

Copyright 2015 by Charlotte Digregorio.

 

About Charlotte Digregorio

I publish books. I have marketed and/or published 55 titles. These books are sold in 46 countries to bookstores, libraries, universities, professional organizations, government agencies, and book clubs. I am also the author of five non-fiction books: Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All; Everything You Need to Know About Nursing Homes; You Can Be A Columnist; Beginners' Guide to Writing & Selling Quality Features; and Your Original Personal Ad. The first four books have been adopted as supplemental texts at universities throughout the U.S., Canada, India, Pakistan, and Catalonia. They are sold in 43 countries, and are displayed in major metropolitan cultural centers. These books have been reviewed, recommended, and praised by hundreds of critics, librarians, and professors worldwide. I am also the author of a poetry collection: "Shadows of Seasons: Selected Haiku and Senryu." Two of my books have been Featured Selections of Writer's Digest Book Club. I am regularly interviewed by major print, radio, and television organizations throughout the U.S. I have signed books at libraries, chain bookstores, and university bookstores. I was recently nominated for a Pushcart Prize in poetry. I have won thirty-three poetry awards. I have been nominated and listed in "The International Authors and Writers Who's Who" in Cambridge, England and in the "Who's Who In Writers, Editors & Poets U.S./Canada." I am an internationally-published haiku, senryu, tanka, kyoka, haibun, free verse, acrostic, cinquain, etheree, and sestina poet. My poetry has been translated into six languages, and I have done poetry readings at a variety of bookstores, libraries, art centers, cafes, tea houses, and galleries. My poetry has been displayed at supermarkets, art galleries, libraries, apparel and wine shops, banks, botanic gardens, restaurants, and on public transit. I've been interviewed on cable television about my poetry. I also hosted my own radio program, "Poetry Beat," on public broadcasting. My poetry has been featured on several library web sites including those of Shreve Memorial Library in Louisiana and Cornell University's Mann Library. My background includes positions as a feature editor and columnist at daily newspapers and as a magazine editor. I have been a public relations director for a non-profit organization. I was also self-employed as a communications/public relations/marketing consultant with 111 clients in 16 states. In other professional areas, I have been on university faculties, teaching French, Italian, and Writing. I regularly give special lectures and workshops on publishing, journalism, publicity, poetry, and creativity to business and professional groups, and to those at writer's conferences, universities, literary festivals, non-profit organizations, and to libraries. I have been a writer-in-residence at universities. There have been about 400 articles written about me in the media. I have served on the Boards of writers and publishers organizations. My positions have included Board Secretary of the Northwest Association of Book Publishers. I served for five years as Midwest Regional Coordinator of The Haiku Society of America. Currently, I am Second Vice President of the Haiku Society.
This entry was posted in creative writing, creativity, Free Verse, Haiku, Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All, Haiku Book, Haiku contest, Haiku Poets, imagistic poetry, Inspired writing, Japanese-style poems, Meditation, meditative poems, micropoetry, nature poetry, Poems, Poetry, poetry contests, Poets, Senryu book, The Art of Poetry, writers, writers' organizations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inspired Writing Is in Everything

  1. mannixk says:

    Beautiful poems, Charlotte. Congrats!

  2. Maureen says:

    Love your poetry, and it’s good to be given a theme. With quite a few contests though, I feel that are more money-making schemes than anything else when they have quite high entry fees

    • Contests that I enter only ask for $1 per poem or a reasonable flat fee, regardless of the number sent. Contests that ask for a hefty sum, I don’t enter. Good point, Maureen!

    • Even the free ones are money making machines. One I used to enter frequently usually had 400 winners every time all published in an anthology. Of course you then want a copy for yourself if you make it in and maybe a few to give as gifts and at $60 a book well these poetry house makes quite a buck. One thing that hooked me is that I made it on page 1 of a book. Then I found out everyone has their poem on page 1 when they order a personal book book. You don’t have to buy a book if you are just trying to build your “I’ve been published” portfolio.

  3. Barb Germiat says:

    Congrats on the recent awards, Charlotte. I’ve been taught that a poet’s job is to pay attention.

    Barb Germiat Appleton WI

Leave a Reply

