Haiku & Senryu: Find Healing & Wisdom

No matter what stage in our lives we find ourselves in, haiku and senryu help us keep everything in perspective. Divorce, illness, addictions, job problems, death of a loved one? These are just a few of the common things that can bring us down.

Haiku and senryu can give us solace or even make us chuckle, hearing from others who are experiencing or have experienced what we are feeling. We realize that we are not alone.

Many of us have discovered haiku and senryu in trying times when we needed them the most.

Don’t miss a day of The Daily Haiku on this blog, and look through the archives for more poems. You can find a poem for practically any time or moment you’ve experienced in your life. Often, we get caught up in analyzing too much, rather than moving forward  and focusing on the bigger picture. While problems can be major and we feel there is no way out, haiku and senryu can often allow us to focus on something positive or doable to help us a bit.

When we go through unspeakable times, reading or writing haiku allows us to hope or to share. The power of words can even change the world and bring us peace.

Lately, when I have had some leisure time, I have been reading haiku and senryu for escape and armchair adventure into nature. I can’t go on a trip today, but my mind can.

One of the greatest gifts you can receive in life is the gift of poetry. It offers us possibilities. You may not have time to sit down and read a novel or a play or a short story, but in just a few moments, you can find some relief through haiku and senryu. And by learning to write them effectively with literary technique,  the power of your ideas can change people’s lives.

: q

Celebrate the international art forms of haiku and senryu, and attempt to master them. A few short words can change your life and the way you look at things. And, if you get the chance, read my book, Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All.

 

Copyright 2016 by Charlotte Digregorio.

 

 

 

 

About Charlotte Digregorio

I publish books. I have marketed and/or published 55 titles. These books are sold in 46 countries to bookstores, libraries, universities, professional organizations, government agencies, and book clubs. I am also the author of five non-fiction books: Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All; Everything You Need to Know About Nursing Homes; You Can Be A Columnist; Beginners' Guide to Writing & Selling Quality Features; and Your Original Personal Ad. The first four books have been adopted as supplemental texts at universities throughout the U.S., Canada, India, Pakistan, and Catalonia. They are sold in 43 countries, and are displayed in major metropolitan cultural centers. These books have been reviewed, recommended, and praised by hundreds of critics, librarians, and professors worldwide. I am also the author of a poetry collection: "Shadows of Seasons: Selected Haiku and Senryu." Two of my books have been Featured Selections of Writer's Digest Book Club. I am regularly interviewed by major print, radio, and television organizations throughout the U.S. I have signed books at libraries, chain bookstores, and university bookstores. I was recently nominated for a Pushcart Prize in poetry. I have won thirty-three poetry awards. I have been nominated and listed in "The International Authors and Writers Who's Who" in Cambridge, England and in the "Who's Who In Writers, Editors & Poets U.S./Canada." I am an internationally-published haiku, senryu, tanka, kyoka, haibun, free verse, acrostic, cinquain, etheree, and sestina poet. My poetry has been translated into six languages, and I have done poetry readings at a variety of bookstores, libraries, art centers, cafes, tea houses, and galleries. My poetry has been displayed at supermarkets, art galleries, libraries, apparel and wine shops, banks, botanic gardens, restaurants, and on public transit. I've been interviewed on cable television about my poetry. I also hosted my own radio program, "Poetry Beat," on public broadcasting. My poetry has been featured on several library web sites including those of Shreve Memorial Library in Louisiana and Cornell University's Mann Library. My background includes positions as a feature editor and columnist at daily newspapers and as a magazine editor. I have been a public relations director for a non-profit organization. I was also self-employed as a communications/public relations/marketing consultant with 111 clients in 16 states. In other professional areas, I have been on university faculties, teaching French, Italian, and Writing. I regularly give special lectures and workshops on publishing, journalism, publicity, poetry, and creativity to business and professional groups, and to those at writer's conferences, universities, literary festivals, non-profit organizations, and to libraries. I have been a writer-in-residence at universities. There have been about 400 articles written about me in the media. I have served on the Boards of writers and publishers organizations. My positions have included Board Secretary of the Northwest Association of Book Publishers. I served for five years as Midwest Regional Coordinator of The Haiku Society of America. Currently, I am Second Vice President of the Haiku Society.
This entry was posted in Addictions, Appreciating Haiku, Appreciating Poetry, Beginning Poets, Charlotte Digregorio, creative writing, death, divorce, Experienced Poets, Haiku, Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All, Haiku books, Haiku Poets, Healing, illness, Jobs, Language Arts, literacy, Recovery, Senryu, Senryu Poets, Short Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Haiku & Senryu: Find Healing & Wisdom

  1. Mary Kendall says:

    Great advice and suggestion for all of us. Your blog is a gift to everyone. 🙂

  2. Chris Moran says:

    Thanks for this helpful message.

    Chris

    Chris Moran 919.417.5230 cmoran@nc.rr.com haikueveryday@twitter.com

    >

  3. Susan Furst says:

    Hi Charlotte,
    I just want to add that poetry is powerful and healing. Especially haiku. It is accessible and concise and you don’t need a college degree to appreciate it. I can see taking it to our elders who live in assisted living homes, perhaps reading to them or writing a group haiku. Those who have short attention spans or processing disorders can also benefit. Haiku as healing, A good idea I think. Haiku Therapy! Lets start a movement!

  4. thank you Charlotte. for these words today. I came across a block that I will not go into right now. I believe your words have created the crack where light may enter. yay on that. we will see. be well. walk in beauty. and have fun. aloha rick

  5. Mary Kendall says:

    I recently bought your book and wish I’d done that long ago. What a marvelous resource for poets! I’ve read it through slowly and intend to do many rereadings. Thank you, Charlotte.

Leave a Reply

