Holiday Season Is a Good Time to Write

Many people tell me they don’t have time to write during the holiday season, and that they postpone many of their literary efforts until the new year. However, I think it is a particularly good and healing time to write.

I have some friends who call me up each year during the last week of November and throughout December, telling me how they don’t really look forward to holidays and the celebrations, as they find they must contend with relatives who they don’t particularly care for. And, then, of course, there are widowed or divorced people who have a particularly difficult time as they remember better years when they were married.

But holidays can be a good time to write, because when you are feeling blue or under stress, you often crank out your best writing that reveals heightened insights. And, even if you totally enjoy the holidays, they are a time when you are out seeing more people in stores, at parties, and talking to colleagues during workplace celebratory gatherings. There, we gather a lot of insights into human nature. For example,  I write at least a few  good senryu during this time–often humorous ones–that are a result of being around a lot more people than usual.

After writing for many decades, I find that it is second nature to me. A friend once asked me, “Can’t you do anything without writing about it?” I guess the answer is no, because I’m always in the frame of mind to write something down, whether or not it will lead to some sort of piece, revision and publication of it.

I think you begin to realize that your career is writing when everything you do involves carrying around a notepad and jotting things down. If you stop to consider it, even your grocery list tells you a lot of things–things about yourself that you could write about, that others can relate to.

As writers, we take nothing for granted. We analyze so much. But just because we analyze a lot, doesn’t make us critical people. I see good writers as having wisdom, logic, and a lot of heart. And, a good writer always looks to relate to the reader. While not all people will understand what you write, if most people do, you are doing your job of reaching out to others.

As I’ve said in my other posts, words matter, and your words matter. Good writing shouldn’t be just a way of indulging yourself. It may help you through life, but it should also help the reader. It should help both the writer and reader make sense of the world.

Make the best of your holiday season! Peace . . .

Copyright 2016 by Charlotte Digregorio.

 

 

About Charlotte Digregorio

I publish books. I have marketed and/or published 55 titles. These books are sold in 46 countries to bookstores, libraries, universities, professional organizations, government agencies, and book clubs. I am also the author of five non-fiction books: Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All; Everything You Need to Know About Nursing Homes; You Can Be A Columnist; Beginners' Guide to Writing & Selling Quality Features; and Your Original Personal Ad. The first four books have been adopted as supplemental texts at universities throughout the U.S., Canada, India, Pakistan, and Catalonia. They are sold in 43 countries, and are displayed in major metropolitan cultural centers. These books have been reviewed, recommended, and praised by hundreds of critics, librarians, and professors worldwide. I am also the author of a poetry collection: "Shadows of Seasons: Selected Haiku and Senryu." Two of my books have been Featured Selections of Writer's Digest Book Club. I am regularly interviewed by major print, radio, and television organizations throughout the U.S. I have signed books at libraries, chain bookstores, and university bookstores. I was recently nominated for a Pushcart Prize in poetry. I have won thirty-three poetry awards. I have been nominated and listed in "The International Authors and Writers Who's Who" in Cambridge, England and in the "Who's Who In Writers, Editors & Poets U.S./Canada." I am an internationally-published haiku, senryu, tanka, kyoka, haibun, free verse, acrostic, cinquain, etheree, and sestina poet. My poetry has been translated into six languages, and I have done poetry readings at a variety of bookstores, libraries, art centers, cafes, tea houses, and galleries. My poetry has been displayed at supermarkets, art galleries, libraries, apparel and wine shops, banks, botanic gardens, restaurants, and on public transit. I've been interviewed on cable television about my poetry. I also hosted my own radio program, "Poetry Beat," on public broadcasting. My poetry has been featured on several library web sites including those of Shreve Memorial Library in Louisiana and Cornell University's Mann Library. My background includes positions as a feature editor and columnist at daily newspapers and as a magazine editor. I have been a public relations director for a non-profit organization. I was also self-employed as a communications/public relations/marketing consultant with 111 clients in 16 states. In other professional areas, I have been on university faculties, teaching French, Italian, and Writing. I regularly give special lectures and workshops on publishing, journalism, publicity, poetry, and creativity to business and professional groups, and to those at writer's conferences, universities, literary festivals, non-profit organizations, and to libraries. I have been a writer-in-residence at universities. There have been about 400 articles written about me in the media. I have served on the Boards of writers and publishers organizations. My positions have included Board Secretary of the Northwest Association of Book Publishers. I served for five years as Midwest Regional Coordinator of The Haiku Society of America. Currently, I am Second Vice President of the Haiku Society.
This entry was posted in Charlotte Digregorio, Holiday, Language Arts, Publishing, Readers, writers, Writing, Writing Ideas, Writing Insights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Holiday Season Is a Good Time to Write

  1. absolutely exactly. my thinking is that we often see clarity when we are in places that are new to us or that take us out of our usual patterns. step aside for a moment and become aware. when i go into these places and times with open eyes (and all other senses) I’m more than likely to come out writing fresh. eventually i come to the realization that every day is always new every time. wow on that. thank you for opening that door once again. aloha.

  2. Paul Beech says:

    Hi Charlotte,

    A very interesting, upbeat post, much enjoyed.

    I’m not sure creative writers, any more than artists of other kinds, can ever really switch off. Ideas come from simply being the way we are, processing experience the way we do. Our acquired disciplines derive from our nature, our talent, and our nature is a powerful driver indeed.

    Of course we might have just completed a challenging project and need a break; that’s quite another matter.

    Then there’s the question of opportunity. Holiday season social pressures might be such that we cannot immediately undertake a complex work requiring sustained concentration, but a holiday will have been productive if it leaves us with something to work on when calm descends.

    As for short form poetry, when inspiration strikes, surely we can never be too busy to pop a few words down on the nearest scrap of paper to hand. Maureen and I are in the throes of moving house but I yesterday wrote a senryu arising from a dose of Athlete’s Foot!

    My very best from North Wales,

    Paul

Leave a Reply

