If You Like Haiku, Be Sure to Read The Asahi Haikuist Network

Dear Loyal Readers and Followers:

In case you haven’t checked it out, the Asahi Haikuist Network, a column from Japan that runs online twice-monthly, is a great resource of haiku and senryu written internationally.  http://www.asahi.com/ajw/special/haiku/

Editor David McMurray has been writing the Asahi Haikuist Network column since April 1995, first for the Asahi Evening News and now for The Asahi Shimbun daily newspaper. He is on the editorial board of the Red Moon Anthology of English-Language Haiku, is a columnist for the Haiku International Association, and is editor of Teaching Assistance, a column featuring graduate students in The Language Teacher of the Japan Association for Language Teaching (JALT).

McMurray is Professor of Intercultural Studies at The International University of Kagoshima where he lectures on international haiku. At the Graduate School, he supervises students who research haiku. He is a correspondent school teacher of Haiku in English for the Asahi Culture Center in Tokyo.

McMurray judges haiku contests organized by Ito En Oi Ocha, Asahi Culture Center, Matsuyama City, Polish Haiku Association, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Seinan Jo Gakuin University, and Only One Tree.

McMurray’s award-winning books include: Only One Tree Haiku, Music & Metaphor (2015); Canada Project Collected Essays & Poems, Vols. 1 — 8 (2013); and Haiku in English as a Japanese Language (2003).

 

I received a pleasant surprise in today’s issue, as David McMurray notified me of below:

 

Dear Charlotte,

from the ceiling
i hang my paper snowflake
sculpting the air

–Charlotte Digregorio (Winnetka, Illinois)

is in today’s issue.

Your haiku matches the paper decorations used by the priest in the sketch in
today’s Asahi.

Your kind wishes were quoted near the end of the column.
Thank you.
David
Readers,
If you are serious about haiku, don’t miss an issue of the Asahi Haikuist Network to keep current on what kind of haiku is being written  worldwide, and contribute  to the column when you can.
Best Wishes,
Charlotte Digregorio

About Charlotte Digregorio

I publish books. I have marketed and/or published 55 titles. These books are sold in 46 countries to bookstores, libraries, universities, professional organizations, government agencies, and book clubs. I recently received an Official Commendation from Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner for my thirty-eight years of accomplishments in the literary arts, and my work to promote and advance the field by educating adults and students alike. I am the author of five non-fiction books: Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All; Everything You Need to Know About Nursing Homes; You Can Be A Columnist; Beginners' Guide to Writing & Selling Quality Features; and Your Original Personal Ad. The first four books have been adopted as supplemental texts at universities throughout the U.S., Canada, India, Pakistan, and Catalonia. They are sold in 43 countries, and are displayed in major metropolitan cultural centers. These books have been reviewed, recommended, and praised by hundreds of critics, librarians, and professors worldwide. I am also the author of a poetry collection: "Shadows of Seasons: Selected Haiku and Senryu." Two of my books have been Featured Selections of Writer's Digest Book Club. I am regularly interviewed by major print, radio, and television organizations throughout the U.S. I regularly sign books at libraries, chain bookstores, and university bookstores, and do poetry readings at art centers, cafes, tea houses, and galleries. I was recently nominated for a Pushcart Prize in poetry. I have won forty-seven poetry awards, writing twelve poetic forms. My poetry has been translated into eight languages. I do illustrated solo poetry exhibits 365 days a year in libraries, galleries, corporate buildings, hospitals, convention centers, and other venues. My individual poems have been displayed at supermarkets, apparel and wine shops, banks, botanic gardens, restaurants, and on public transit. I have been nominated and listed in "The International Authors and Writers Who's Who" in Cambridge, England and in the "Who's Who In Writers, Editors & Poets U.S./Canada." I hosted my own radio program, "Poetry Beat," on public broadcasting. My poetry has been featured on several library web sites including those of Shreve Memorial Library in Louisiana and Cornell University's Mann Library. My background includes positions as a feature editor and columnist at daily newspapers and as a magazine editor. I have been a public relations director for a non-profit organization. I am self-employed as a public relations/marketing consultant, having served a total of 118 clients in 23 states for the past several decades . In other professional areas, I have been on university faculties, teaching French, Italian, and Writing. I regularly give lectures and workshops on publishing, journalism, publicity, poetry, and creativity to business and professional groups, and at writer's conferences, universities, literary festivals, non-profit organizations, and libraries. I have been a writer-in-residence at universities. There have been about 400 articles written about me in the media. I have served on the Boards of writers and publishers organizations. My positions have included Board Secretary of the Northwest Association of Book Publishers. I served for five years as Midwest Regional Coordinator of The Haiku Society of America, and for two years as its Second Vice President.
This entry was posted in Asahi Haikuist Network, Charlotte Digregorio, David McMurray, Haiku, Japan, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If You Like Haiku, Be Sure to Read The Asahi Haikuist Network

  1. Congratulations Charlotte! Thanks for the tip! I had been wondering how to submit here…

  2. Thanks for the info!
    Just checked on Amazon for his books.
    Oh, how I wish haiku writers would publish their books as e-books so the rest of us could read them!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s